on a lighter note…

25 Sep

These Guidelines made me Snort Laugh when I first read them. It’s from the FAQ section of the blog


I Blame The Patriarchy

The patriarchy-blaming blog that never misses dinner.


Now, every time that I leave a comment on any blog, Twisty’s words are in my head: “Commenters should strive for excellence.”

After you’ve read the Guidelines below, treat yourself to a viewing of the iMovie on this page of I Blame the Patriarchy. It makes me giggle every single time I see it. I just watched it again, for the upteenth time. I needed a lift before watching the evening news.


Comments Guidelines

Commenters should strive for excellence.

A certain standard of civility, to be determined by me arbitrarily, is required. As the inimitable Lauren says, my blog, my discretion.

Please refrain from playing into the hands of trolls. Once rewarded with your righteous indignation, they take root and are difficult to kill, requiring extra work for the moderator (me), who dislikes extra work.

Kindly employ good grammar, syntax, punctuation, and spelling, both when commenting, and during the course of your daily life. Emoticons are discouraged. Capitalize the personal pronoun “I.” Recall that the word is “definitely,” not “definately.” Tighten up those verb tenses. Do not use an ellipsis. That sort of thing. Failure to comply can result in comment deletion purely on the grounds of aesthetic decency.

While you’re at it, you might as well avoid clichés, too. Resist the compulsion, in your haste to convey sarcasm, to begin with the word “um” or “er.” You are not an edgy young character in a sitcom.

4 Responses to “on a lighter note…”

  1. wzgirl September 25, 2006 at 7:52 pm #

    Funny. Does it bother you when I do this….?

  2. walternatives September 25, 2006 at 8:40 pm #

    Not at all.

  3. SBird September 26, 2006 at 3:35 pm #

    I agree with the capitalization of “I.” Too many of my students (and some of my 40-something friends) feel it necessary to use the “i.” The only people allowed to do that are lucille clifton and bell hooks. (And maybe e.e. cummings, but he’s so *old-school*…).

    Which brings me to ellipsis…in which I am a true believer…she’s just dead wrong about that…ellipsis represent the absolute paragon of aesthetic achievement in punctuation…period…

    SBird, Ph.D. in English…so there….

  4. Carrie September 27, 2006 at 12:07 pm #

    Um…. Errr…. and what if I AM an edge young character in a sitcom?! What about it, Troll… ;)

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

